Szyk Inducted to Hall of Fame of the Society of Illustrators

szyk-art-previewWe are pleased to announce that Arthur Szyk has been elected into the Hall of Fame of the Society of Illustrators in New York.

Tonight, May 1, he will be inducted during a special awards ceremony and dinner, along with other honorees: Bernard D’Andrea, Ted and Betsy Lewin, Patrick Oliphant, Walter Baumhofer, Will Eisner, and Virgil Finlay.

The Society of Illustrators’ Hall of Fame recognizes artists for their “distinguished achievement in the art of illustration.” Artists are selected by former presidents of the Society and are chosen based upon their body of work and the impact it has made on the field of illustration. Norman Rockwell was the first inductee in 1958.

Read more in this blog post by Steven Heller about Arthur Szyk and his recent award.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>